The 2011 String Poet Women Writers of Tomorrow award ceremony took place on September 25, 2011 at the Walt Whitman Birthplace. The featured readers for the ceremony were Kim Bridgford, founder of the Mezzo Cammin Women Poets Timeline; and Annabelle Moseley, 2009-2010 Walt Whitman Birthplace Writer-in-Residence, and founder of String Poet and the Women Writers of Tomorrow Contest.

The awards and certificates were presented by Kim Bridgford, Annabelle Moseley, and Cynthia Shor, Executive Director of the Walt Whitman Birthplace Association. After the awards and prizes were presented, the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners and Honorable Mention authors were invited to read their entry. It was heartening to see so many young women sharing their work, and to catch a glimpse of the writers of tomorrow.